Peace! Be Still!

big_thumb_dcd54bd2ae88656e54a5deb80460d2d8
I was about to go to work one morning when it started to pour heavily. Not only that, winds were almost tearing my windows down, and thunders and lightnings were everywhere. Not that I am scared by the storm, but the fact that it will be dangerous for me to travel to city in the middle of a heavy storm bothered me so much – that I couldn’t help but to tweet about it.

I was stuck in my room waiting for the storm to stop, at least for a while, so that I can get out. My phone dinged, and I leaned over just to see that one of my good friends has responded to my tweet:

“Kalma lang. Ingat! :)”

I can’t imagine how this friend of mine could say that. I mean of course, he’s not gonna be the one that’s gonna be busted at work for coming in late, right? My friend seemed to be confident that I’ll be able to go out safely.

Then I was quickly reminded about a story in the book of Mark, when Jesus and His disciples were on a boat in the Sea of Galilee and as they cross the other side of the lake, they found themselves in the middle of a huge storm. Soon, the waves are breaking the edge of their boat and filling it with water.

And all throughout this commotion, Jesus was in a peaceful nap!

38 But he was in the stern, asleep on the cushion. And they woke him and said to him, “Teacher, do you not care that we are perishing?” 39 And he awoke and rebuked the wind and said to the sea, “Peace! Be still!” And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm.
Mark 4:38-39 ESV

Jesus, after He has rebuked the winds and the sea, has rebuked His disciples after.

40 He said to them, “Why are you so afraid? Have you still no faith?
Mark 4:40 ESV

So you see, Jesus could sleep through that storm because He knew He would calm the storm and get His disciples safely to the other side. And all that He was asking is for these guys to trust Him that He could do it, hence, questioning them why they were so afraid.

Jesus knows your storms as well. Whether be it a financial or a relational storm, He knows that He alone can get you through it safely. He knows the end of the story already. The only question here is, do you trust Him enough that He can do it?

He never promised us a life free of storms, and sure enough He knows that you will be facing thunders and lightnings in your life as His follower. But, we need to realize that He allows it to happen so that we may learn to trust Him, and to find peace knowing that He is indeed trustworthy.

41 And they were filled with great fear and said to one another, “Who then is this, that even the wind and the sea obey him?
Mark 4:41 ESV

I know this is easier said than done, but there is no need to be afraid of any storm where Christ is present. The God you serve is being obeyed by the wind and the sea. How powerful is He who stands by you! He is louder than the thunders that you will hear, brighter than the lightnings you will see, and above all, greater than every storm that you will face.

Do not be afraid and do not be dismayed at this great horde, for the battle is not yours but God’s.
2 Chronicles 20:15

So if you are experiencing a storm right now, you can be secured. Be still. Or in short, “Kalma lang. Ingat!”

Leave a Reply

